Molik Karn WIP opinions please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Molik Karn WIP opinions please

Just finishing up the arm on this guy and tried to pull off NMM on the goldwork and sword. It is lacking a bit I know but the first time I have really tried NMM and super glazing. So opinions critiques please
    Attached Files

Hi,

I lie the look of the sword. To me though it looks more like a bone coloured sword rather than a silvery metal nmm. I think the black lining is too harsh between the balde and the hilt. I am not an expert on NMM though at all. I like the colour of the red. My personal prefereence is for it to be a little darker in the shading though. It's coming along well I think. I like the look of the sculpts face and look forward to seeing how you do it up. Is this a Privateer Press mini?
    "Who needs weights? Animals don't lift weights, and animals are STRONG!"
    -Chuck "the Truck" Wallace

Comment

I think Scotts point about needing more shading is good and could be carried through to the whole mini. For NMM to work you need lots of contrast. It's tough to get that sometimes but that's why the technique can be difficult.

Zach
      www.crookedeye.net

Comment

What's super shading?

Comment

Thanks for the comments. Yes, its a Privateer press figure. Super glazing is what I call it but some would call it something else. To me, its laying down extremely thin paint to water like, 10-12 parts water to one part paint and then glazing over a particular area like hundreds of times to slowly build up a color variant from the base color. It takes a really long time but I cant figure out any other way of not getting lines of demarcation as smooth as I like.

Comment

Nice job. I like your colors a little better than the studio - they're more vivid. The cyclops eye, is it there or was that all freehand in the studio job? I can't see any hint of it on your WIP
            sigpic