Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Air Brush Experiences Needed

Hi all,

This topic comes up quite often I'm sure, but here goes.

I'm interested in jumping into working with an air brush on my 15mm -32mm models in all genres.

I've narrowed down my choices to an internal mix (dual action, of course), gravity feed (or side feed- Give me your opinions) AB.

However, I have no experience, nor any chance to see anyone locally use an airbrush, nor an opportunity to try one out myself.

Can you give some suggestions and things to look for for someone who is looking at buying a brush and compressor?

For example, when might I want a side feed compared to gravity or bottom feed?

Types of compressors- I will be using it indoors, so noise is an issue.

General work tips, things to avoid, problems, good experiences, etc.

Thanks!
    "Stupidity is a disease that can, and should be, cured."
    DNA pioneer James Watson

My tip: don't forget the air hose!

Last week I was all geared up for using my new airbrush for the first time. I had all the stuff ready, mini, airbrush itself, can of propellent, nozzle cleaner spray (came free with the propellent), paint mixed up. Then I realised I had no way to connect the can to the brush... gutted.
    "We can categorically state that we have not released man-eating badgers into the area" - UK military spokesman Major Mike Shearer
    "I think they should all be topless, they're just more fun that way" - Vegascat
    "I once hit a guy in the face with a crap" - NeatPete
    "The doctor put me on a course of placebos," said the lady in the straw hat. "But I don't take them. I'm saving them all up for a mock suicide attempt."
    "Unleash a rancid potpourri of lunacy!" - Games Workshop Website.
    "I used to be Sheogorath but I took an arrow to the knee."

Comment

My experiences are limited and I'm sure there'll be someone along soon with more experience than myself but I hope the following observations help.