Signup Now
Come on sign up, you know you want to. It's free and easy and you get to be even more awesome!

Thread: SD's PfP, A hobby funding itself! (hopefully)

SD's PfP, A hobby funding itself! (hopefully)

I am not going to make lofty goals at the moment, as I am new to selling painted miniatures. Many of you know that I am also not the best painter out there. I am, however, going to be going about this differently than most.

My goal is to get better at painting over time. Lately I have improved leaps and bounds, but I am nowhere near good enough to be earning double retail auctions. Once I have figured out my new method of metallic painting that may change, but that could be a ways away.

My strategy is to buy low and sell close to retail. Over the past year I have been very lucky with my hoard indeed, as I have lucky friends who share in their luck with myself. I have quite a collection and am willing to part with it to make this hobby fund itself. I will start with what I have.

I started with 20 bucks. I bought 4 vallejo model air metallics in order to improve upon said metallic experiment, as well as to use tried and true methods. I didn't completely spend the 20 dollars, but for the sake of this challenge I will say that I will, because one of my figures I bought recently, and the leftover of the 20 is right around what I paid for that mini. The mini in question is Reapers Night Spectre BTW.

So, the mini's I will start with are: an AoW Dwarf Lord (the one with the cigar), the white dwarf model from several years back (the one that was meant for the table top) and my soul grinder. On my days off I will be diligently working on these and put them up on ebay.

So, personal rules:
    1. When calculating profit, include all overhead possible.
    2. Models that I currently have and am getting rid of I will calculate at the price I bought them at, not current retail price.