Signup Now
Come on sign up, you know you want to. It's free and easy and you get to be even more awesome!
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Stuff from the new kid

Stuff from the new kid

Greetings!

I've been told it was time I stopped lurking and actually posted something and introduced myself. My name is Jen, and I live in Colorado. I've been painting for about 4 or 5 years. For the most part I usually stick to fantasy, 28-30 mm, but I have been known to indulge in an occasional 54 mm. I love vivid color and high contrast, though I don't always manage to pull it off effectively. I'm also fairly challenged when it comes to computers and other tech stuff, so please be patient with me!

So I guess I should share a couple recently finished figs with you all. The first one is Friar Stone, Traveling Monk from Reaper Miniatures. Tre Manor is rapidly becoming one of my favorite sculptors... I foresee myself painting many more from him in the near future! I absolutely love the character he puts in his faces!

Dude looked lonely on the base by himself, so I added a bunny for his animal companion. Let's just hope that Thumper stays on the path...

Next up is Callus Darklore, Necromancer, also a Reaper fig. I really wanted to do some sort of swirly freehand on the back of his cloak... I mean it's just begging for it... but once I put on the yellow glaze to shift the color I was too scared to try. My freehand is still a little sketchy, and needs a lot of clean up work. I wasn't sure I could match the background colors well enough to pull it off. If it hadn't been an already overdue commission I might have gone for it anyway. Next time...

I wish I could figure out how to make the pics appear in the post instead of just having them linked. :P

Anyhow, I hope you guys like them. Brutally honest C&C is always appreciated!

Laters,
    Jen
    Attached Images Attached Images