Signup Now
Come on sign up, you know you want to. It's free and easy and you get to be even more awesome!
Page 1 of 17 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: jkn's mini foothill thread

Super Wamp
    Blog Entries

jkn's mini foothill thread

I posted this yesterday as a blog post and decided it made more sense as a kick off for my WIP thread.

Twenty Years Since Painting

I suddenly became interested in miniatures and painting again only a couple weeks ago. What flipped the switch? I think I just needed to jump into something old and familiar - something away from computers (although the irony of doing my entire research online and joining this community - but... that's different.)

I've been a musician all my life. Music is an integral part of me - and I go a bit nuts if I'm away from it too long. But I'm a creative person - and other things make me just as happy. Getting lost in taking photographs - it's a brief moment, magic moment of becoming one with the view in the camera. It's easier for me to get lost playing piano or bass or guitar - but photography... and painting also take me there.

Even stranger on my sudden flip back to miniatures is less than a year ago I was debating on whether to keep them! We were preparing to move from Illinois to Indiana for my wife's work and I was pondering giving them to my nephew who was just kind of dabbling in D&D. In the end - I decided they had too much sentimental value - packed them into boxes and kept them.

So we move to Indiana - my job transferred with me (yay!) and I worked from a new office and then 5 months later I got let go in a corporate "cost reduction" in October after 13 years with the company. I've been looking for a new position since then.

I think the miniatures is a return to something I loved - and it's "new" - really new now. So much has changed! Not only the internet to connect people, but so many smaller companies doing more specialized work.