PDA

View Full Version : Jona's Sapo

Jona
31-01-2014, 01:34 PM
Hey all!
As for me this challenge is in the first place an opportunity to learn as much as I can from you guys - actual painters - I'm putting up a log for my progress already. As I'm planning to do a lot of things I have never done, or never thought about (lots of ideas I got from reading various logs on here and Platoon Britannica, which go far beyond the things I previously saw on Warhammer-related fora), I hope to receieve as much criticism as possible.
I'm not in the same league of many of you, by far, but I'd appreciate it a lot if you could judge and criticise my progress as you would your own work. There are without doubt much subtleties I won't be able to incorporate, or techniques which lie far beyond my proficiency with a brush, but it's by hearing what is possible, and failing trying it myself, that I think I can learn most. And don't be affraid to hurt my feelings; I'm a student in architecture, so I'm used to hearing the truth and worse. :smile:

So, off we go, with a brief concept outline, and a couple of pictures.

I'm theming my Sapo around his dual nature of frog-man, making a clear (but hopefully still subtle enough) split between his left (frog) and right (man) side. There are a couple of techniques I want to use to achieve this:

- I envision him working in the sewers, or something like that, so I'll be using a dark setting with directional lighting from a torch/lamp/... which shines from his upper left side, probably using a soft yellow (almost near fleshtones) similar to what Darkmessiah is doing/has done on his Samurai (http://platoonbritannica.com/index.php?threads/darkmessiah-strikes-back-wip-ii.12/page-32).